52 Project – Week 6 – @chasejarvis

Background: This year, I’ve decided to do a 52 project (one photo a week), and my “theme” is that I’m going to do a self-portrait each week, where I try to mimic the Twitter picture/avatar of someone that I follow, figuring I’d be able to learn a new technique/look each week that I can apply to future projects.

I skipped a week since I went on vacation with my wife – I hope the 52 project police won’t arrest me – so I wanted to make sure I didn’t miss again after I got back, since I know that would send me into a tailspin of skipping weeks.  This week, I decided to do Chase Jarvis’ Twitter avatar – partly because I knew it would be a one-light set up (thus less work) and partly because I wanted to keep working on one-light set ups using my Speedlights.  And now that I’ve had too good of a look at my bloated post-vacation drinking and eating binge face, I’m going to start choosing far away avatars to copy. But enough self-immolation, on to the picture.

Chase Jarvis (@chasejarvis) is a very talented commercial and portrait photographer and videographer based out of Seattle. He does a “Chase Jarvis Live” interview feature on his blog which is always great to watch for inspiration and knowledge, and just plain fun too, because it’s very conversational and casual.  He’s done some really cool work for REI, Mountain Dew, and Volvo among others on the commercial side, and always seems to have a cool and innovative personal project going on.  You can check out his work here.

I didn’t have the same type of background that is behind Chase in his picture, so I decided to use a wall in my basement that has a cool pattern and texture. It took a while to get the lighting the way I wanted (and I probably wouldn’t use that type of lighting in a regular portrait, but maybe in something commercial or editorial), but I was fairly pleased at the end and only needed a little post-processing work.

Chase Jarvis' Twitter picture

Me as Chase Jarvis

The setup for this shot

Leave a Reply

