52 Project – Week 10 – @danieltosh

Background: This year, I’ve decided to do a 52 project (one photo a week), and my “theme” is that I’m going to do a self-portrait each week, where I try to mimic the Twitter picture/avatar of someone that I follow, figuring I’d be able to learn a new technique/look each week that I can apply to future projects.

Let me just start off this week by saying that I have a very juvenile sense of humor. To the point where I make my kids roll their eyes at me. So it’s probably no surprise that I’m a fan of Daniel Tosh – juvenile humor is right up his alley, and if you’ve ever seen his show on Comedy Central, you can’t help but agree.  I also own a couple of his CDs and I love his offbeat humor in that format – he’s not afraid to use stereotypes to make a joke, and he’ll “go there” without skipping a beat. I love the way he jumps from topic to topic and his lack of a segue way becomes part of the joke. One word of warning about watching his show (which takes videos found on the internet and makes fun of them) – some of the stuff is NOT for the faint of heart! My wife had nightmares after the first episode this season – it wasn’t scary, just really gross.

For this week’s photo, it was only appropriate that I had to borrow one of my wife’s sweaters to try to match Daniel’s outfit.  He often jokes about how he seems like he could be gay, but he’s not, but he never really comes out and says he’s not, so it leaves you wondering.  Oh, and he likes to be naked on his show. Be thankful that wasn’t his Twitter avatar.

The photo was taken using a beauty dish, angled so it was only skimming across my face, creating the edge shadow on the backdrop. I didn’t take a BTS photo (I don’t always remember), but the set up was very simple. I started out using a 20 degree grid  to try to get the background effect, but found that was creating too many other shadows.  I created the “logo” in Photoshop and added it to the photo in post.  Enjoy!

Daniel Tosh's Twitter Avatar

Me as Daniel Tosh

Comments
2 Responses to “52 Project – Week 10 – @danieltosh”
  1. Barbara Dillon says:

    Love these weekly photos – very accurate!

  2. Very cool and very handsome David! BethO

Leave a Reply

