52 Project – Week 11 – @pixelatedimage (David duChemin)

Background: This year, I’ve decided to do a 52 project (one photo a week), and my “theme” is that I’m going to do a self-portrait each week, where I try to mimic the Twitter picture/avatar of someone that I follow, figuring I’d be able to learn a new technique/look each week that I can apply to future projects.

This week’s photo is based on the Twitter avatar of David duChemin. David is a self-described “world and humanitarian photographer” based out of Canada, but he travels so much it’s difficult to truly pin down where he’s from.  I first became aware of David when I first joined Twitter – I started following a number of photographers, and it was about this time (April 2011) that David had a very unfortunate accident in Pisa, Italy when he fell from a 30 foot wall near the river and ended up with multiple fractures in his hip, feet and hand.  He was in the hospital there for quite a while, and when he was finally able to travel home, he had a few months of therapy to fully recover and be able to walk normally.  As I researched David, I found that he was a fantastic photographer and teacher – his website, Craft & Vision, offers a multitude of fairly-priced ebooks on a large number of topics that can help photographers of every level.  I enjoy seeing what he’s up to, and I’ve gotten a few of the ebooks as part of my search for knowledge.  Plus, his name is David – how could I not like him? 😉

Since David’s avatar is a shot from one of his travels, I wasn’t able to duplicate the setting exactly (I think this is my first non-studio shot in this project), so I used my front entryway to get close, then I did a little work in Photoshop to get the look closer by desaturating the bricks and adding a dark area behind my head.  I may go back and rework the Photoshop part, because it’s not as clean as I’d like it, but since I was slow in getting this week’s (actually last week) installment done, I’m opting for speed over perfection – not the way I like to do things, but I’ll have to compromise in this case as my time is limited.

David duChemin's Twitter Avatar

 

Me as David duChemin

 

Setup for the shot

Leave a Reply

