52 Project – Week 12 – @KenKaminesky

Background: This year, I’ve decided to do a 52 project (one photo a week), and my “theme” is that I’m going to do a self-portrait each week, where I try to mimic the Twitter picture/avatar of someone that I follow, figuring I’d be able to learn a new technique/look each week that I can apply to future projects.

Ken Kaminesky is a travel and lifestyle photographer based out of Canada (I guess I’m on a Canada roll the past few weeks), who’s done a lot of work that I really enjoy.  He does a LOT of traveling (which I would love to do more of), and his photos have a very distinctive style due to his post-processing techniques.  He does a lot of HDR processing, but in a pretty realistic style to bring out the dynamic range of his photos without getting that “overdone” unrealistic look to them.  You can find his work on his blog, and his post today was actually what inspired me to use him as my subject this week.

This week’s set up was very straightforward – a gridded beauty dish on axis with the camera, and to get the bluish tint to my photos I dropped the white balance as low as it would go (2500 K), rather than adjusting in Lightroom.  Basic adjustments were done in Lightroom, then I completed the processing in Photoshop to lighten the background a little, and add the blur and touch of texture.

Ken Kaminesky

Me as Ken Kaminesky

Leave a Reply

