My Favorites of 2012

A lot of people have already put together their “best of” posts, but I decided to wait until after the new year began, and I’m glad I did because I actually took one of my favorites the day before New Year’s Eve! When I put these images together, not only did I realize I should be setting aside favorite images throughout the year to make it easier, but I decided that I wouldn’t use any photos I took of my kids – even though I liked a lot of the shots I did of them, I’m probably a little biased about the quality due to the subject matter ;-).  I did, however, included a shot of my Mom because I was so pleased with how it came out.  So, without further ado, here are my 10 favorite images from 2012, in no particular order, with some description for each:

These first two shots were taken in Stone Harbor, NJ at sunrise not long after I bought the Nikon D800 – I was testing it out and decided to take some HDR images, which became my favorite landscapes of the year:

Rock jetty at sunrise in Stone Harbor, NJ

Rock jetty at sunrise in Stone Harbor, NJ

Sailboat mast at sunrise in Stone Harbor, NJ

Sailboat mast at sunrise in Stone Harbor, NJ

This shot was of one of the players for a local AAU basketball team, the NEPA Warriors.  They asked me to do team and individual portraits for their teams, and I decided to try something different:

A player for the NEPA Warriors, an AAU basketball team

A player for the NEPA Warriors, an AAU basketball team

I took this shot in Paris at the Musee d’Orsay, my favorite museum in Paris.  When I visited this fall, rather than take a lot of gear, I only shot with a Fuji X100 and my iPhone and took more candid people and street shots than I did of the monuments and architecture:

Visitors to the Musee d'Orsay look out the giant clock

Visitors to the Musee d’Orsay look out the giant clock

My Mom – when I knew she was going to visit over the New Year’s Eve holiday, I decided I wanted to take her portrait, and I had this specific image in mind.  Mom was a great sport and a fantastic model, and I was very thrilled to be able to take the exact photo I had in my mind:

My Mom

My Mom

When I was taking some shots for my friend of her kids for their Christmas card and gifts, they were nice enough to let me try out some different set ups and techniques, and this ended up being one of my favorite shots that day:

Kids by a tree

Kids by a tree

Local up and coming hip-hop singer Kohner was looking for some new promo shots – we did a variety of shots, both in studio and at a great location, and these were just a few of the great ones we got that day:

Kohner Rice, hip-hop singer

Kohner Rice, hip-hop singer

Kohner Rice, hip-hop singer

Kohner Rice, hip-hop singer

I did a lot of work for Little Theatre of Wilkes-Barre this year and this was my favorite promo shot, for “Forever Plaid”, it was a simple one-light set up against one of their outside walls, but it fit perfectly with the show and ended up on their poster and billboard:

Promotional shot for Little Theatre of Wilkes-Barre's "Forever Plaid"

Promotional shot for Little Theatre of Wilkes-Barre’s “Forever Plaid”

Finally, this was one of the headshots I did for Blue Cross of NE PA of their outside sales team – the shot itself isn’t necessarily “outstanding”, but this was my first major corporate job, so for that reason, it gets included in this list:

Head shot for Blue Cross of NE PA

Head shot for Blue Cross of NE PA

Thanks to all who gave me such great support this year as I started on what will hopefully be a long and fruitful journey becoming a true professional photographer – I certainly know that I wouldn’t have been able to accomplish anything without you all!

Leave a Reply

